A double-decker literally flyover(s) a five storeys building


Hong Kong has a five storeys high flyover which comes down from the peak, passes through High Street (“the High Street Flyover”) between a bunch of high rise buildings along a two lane street and ends at Connaught Road in the western district. I think it is probably the highest and longest flyover built on the narrowest of streets in the world. The flyover amused me when I passed through it this morning. I took my Iphone out and took a few pictures intended for the entertainment for my friends of this blog.

When I thought of an interesting title for this post, I came up with the subject title. For educational I would like to share with my friends the meaning of the word literally, which probably is one of the most misused words in the English language.

According to Wiktionary, literally means:

  • word for word; not as an idiom or metaphor. When my sewing kit fell off the barn loft, I literally had to look for a needle in a haystack.

When I say “A double-decker literally flyover(s) the High Street Flyover”, there are two puns or “two literallys” in this sentence. Can you see the two puns? Please let me know by taking the poll below the pictures.

High Street 5

The bus coming down from the peak (imagine)

High Street 3
The bus passig through two high rise buildings
High Street 10

The bus flying over a 5 storeys building (see the top right corner)

 

Leave a Reply

